um debate

  • On Oct. 13-15 University of Miami policy debaters took a stand on healthcare at Mary Washington University outside D.C. This event was the first junior varsity tournament for the squad, after having to miss an event at Georgia State University because of Hurricane Irma. Julia Lynch and Jiaying Li won three and lost three debates, nearly breaking into semifinals. Rene Betancourt and Daniel Gallego finished 2-4.

  • The University of Miami Debate Team began the season competing against students from the University of Florida and the University of Central Florida at the Sunshine State Showdown hosted by UCF in Orlando on October 6-8. The UM Team of Nicole Beckemeyer and Jakob Nordenstam won half their debates. Jakob was recognized as the fifth place individual speaker and Nicole was sixth place. Rene Betancourt and Monica Samit were 1-3, but left the tournament ready for their next competition.

  • The University of Miami Debate Team hosted a three-person team of debaters from Ireland on Monday, April 4, at the Shalala Student Activity Center. The public debate focused on the motion that this house believes the political success of Donald J. Trump in the Republican primaries is a reflection of the demise of American democracy.

  • The Cross Examination Debate Association (CEDA) and the National Debate Tournament (NDT) have posted their first rankings of the year. The University of Miami Debate Team is currently #19 on the CEDA list and #17 on the NDT list. These lists reflect overall squad performance. The American Debate Association (ADA), in which UM finished 6th in 2013-14, will post their ranks at the end of the debate year in March.

  • 10 UM Students were introduced to intercollegiate debate competition for the first time at the Sunshine State Scrimmage hosted by UCF in Orlando. Competing against teams from UF and UCF, the UM Novice team of Thalia Garcia and Lucas Baker placed first, with Baker named the 2nd place individual speaker and Garcia 3rd. UM sophomore Bancy Makavana also received individual recognition as the 5th place speaker.